Hey everyone! 

I hope you are all doing well. I just got back from a week of traveling through Europe. I visited many places. I started out last Saturday flying to London, England. I visited London until Wednesday then I took a plane to Rome Italy where I stayed for two days and then I took a train to Venice Italy staying for two days and then I finally ended the week in Milan Italy and came back to Stuttgart today. I was able to see many different landmarks and famous places though my travels (pictures will be posted soon). 
In London I visited many different places. 
- We did a guided tour of the city
- Abbey Road (famous from the Beatles album cover) 
- The changing of the guard (Buckingham Palace) 
- Tower Bridge (London Bridge) 
- Tower of London
- St. Paul's Cathedral 
- Shakespeare's Globe
- The London Eye (I rode it all the way to top, there was an awesome view of the city of London at the top) 
- Big Ben (the clock Tower) 
- Buckingham Palace
- Kensington Palace ( where princess Diana stayed) 
- Marble Arch 
- Madame Tussauds ( a wax museum where there were famous people made out of wax, some of them looked so real it was scary. Pictures will be posted soon) 
- Trafalgar Square
- Went in the London Dungeon 
- walked through Piccadilly circus (not an acutal circus, but a square with a bunch of small shops in it) 

In Italy I also visited many places 
Rome: 
- Did a guided tour of the city
- The Vatican ( a church)
- The Colosseum (the arena where they had gladiator fights back in medival times) 
- Trevi Fountain (thousands of people go there daily to through a penny into the fountain and make a wish) 
- The Pantheon 
Venice: 
- Took a Gondola Ride (like a canoe) 
- Did a ghost tour at night on Saint Marks island
- Visited Saint Marks island
Milan: 
- Guided tour of the city
- The mall where fashion week had occurred a few years ago.
- The original painting of The Last Supper

As you can see I was able to visit many places during the ten days I had available to travel. I will be posting pictures soon. As for now I am heading off to bed to wake up for class early tomorrow morning. There is a U-Bahn (germany subway) and Bus strike in Stuttgart so I will be walking to the nearest train stop about 35 minutes to catch the train to get to class in the morning. 
This week all 16 of us students will be making our first trip to a German elementary school. I will post on how that is. 
Thursday night I am leaving Germany by Train to travel to France and see Paris with the famous Eiffel Tower. 
Hope everyone has a great rest of your week and keep checking for pictures and more updates! 

See you soon! :) 



Leave a Reply.

    Author

    Miss Kim is a student teacher with the fourth grade at Sandy Ridge elementary school in Union County, North Carolina. 
    She is studying abroad in Germany for two months and this is her blog to inform the fourth graders about Europe. 

    Archives

    December 2011
    November 2011
    October 2011

    Categories

    All